19 candidates to take part in District 1 special election

COLUMBIA, S.C. (WCIV) - Sixteen Republican and three Democratic candidates have filed in the special election for South Carolina's 1st U.S. Congressional District.

The candidates will meet in the March 19 Republican primary. A runoff will be held on April 2, if it's necessary, and the general election is slated for May 7.

"We have a strong field of candidates to replace our Republican rockstar, Sen. Tim Scott. After all votes are cast, our party will stand united behind the primary winner. I have no doubt that a South Carolina Republican will continue to represent the 1st district in Congress," said SCGOP Chairman Chad Connelly.

Republican candidates filing for the 1st Congressional District:

Keith Blanford

Curtis Bostic

Ric Bryant

Larry Grooms

Jonathan Hoffman

Jeff King

John Kuhn

Tim Larkin

Chip Limehouse

Peter McCoy

Elizabeth Moffly

Ray Nash

Andy Patrick

Shawn Pinkston

Mark Sanford

Teddy Turner

Democratic candidates filing for the 1st Congressional District:

Elizabeth Colbert-Busch

Ben Frasier

Martin Skelly