Rival players named to Davey O'Brien watch list

FORT WORTH, TX (CLEM/USC) Clemson quarterback Tajh Boyd has been named one of 34 quarterbacks on the 2013 Davey O'Brien Watch List. {}Boyd has been one of 16 semifinalists for the award each of the last two years.

Boyd is one of four ACC quarterbacks on the list. The others are Stephen Morris of Miami (FL), Bryn Renner of North Carolina and Logan Thomas of Virginia Tech.

Boyd was the ACC Player of the Year {}in 2012 when he led Clemson to an 11-2 record and number-nine final ranking in USA Today. He was named a first-team All-American quarterback according to the Football Coaches Association ahead of Heisman winner Johnny Manziel. {}Boyd holds 51 Clemson records entering this season. {}{}

He set the ACC record for touchdown responsibility in a season last year with 46 touchdowns, one less than Manziel and second in the nation. Additionally, he was fifth in the nation in passing efficiency at 165.6, all-time Clemson record and threw for a Clemson record 3896 yards.

Boyd and the Tigers will open the season against Georgia and quarterback Aaron Murray, another quarterback on the Davey O'Brien Watch List.

The Tigers' rival, The University of South Carolina Gamecocks also has a player on the prestigious list, Gamecock senior Connor Shaw.Shaw comes into 2013 with a 17-3 record all-time as a starting quarterback, ranking as one of two Gamecocks in history with 3,000 yards passing and 1,000 rushing in a career, joining Jeff Grantz. Twice a 2013 SEC Offensive Player of the Week, Shaw and the Gamecocks posted an 11-2 record last season, with Shaw setting a school record with a 67.5 percent completion rate. The current South Carolina leader in career pass-completion percentage, the Flowery Branch, Ga., product also stands ninth in career pass completions (300) and seventh in career passing touchdowns (32).This year's list, which was compiled by a subset of the Davey O'Brien National Selection Committee, features 34 of the nation's best college quarterbacks who were selected based on player performance during the previous year and expectations heading into the 2013 college football season. Shaw is part of seven Southeastern Conference quarterbacks on the list, the most of any league. The award's 16 semifinalists will be announced on Mon., Nov. 4, while the field will be narrowed to three finalists three weeks later. The winner will be revealed on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thurs., Dec. 12.

2013 Davey O'Brien Watch ListDavid Ash, TexasBlake, Bortles, UCFTajh Boyd, ClemsonTeddy Bridgewater, LouisvilleTerrance Broadway, Louisiana-LafayetteKolton Browning, ULMDerek Carr, Fresno StateRakeem Cato, MarshallCody Fajardo, NevadaDavid Fales, San Jose StateJames Franklin, MissouriDevin Gardner, MichiganKevin Hogan, StanfordBrett Hundley, UCLAChuckie Keeton, Utah StateTaylor Kelly, Arizona StateJordan Lynch, Northern IllinoisJohnny Manziel, Texas A&MMarcus Mariota, OregonTaylor Martinez, NebraskaAJ McCarron, AlabamaBraxton Miller, Ohio StateStephen Morris, Miami (Fla.)Aaron Murray, GeorgiaCasey Pachall, TCUKeith Price, WashingtonBryn Renner, North CarolinaKeenan Reynolds, NavyTyler Russell, Mississippi StateConnor Shaw, South CarolinaTyler Tettleton, OhioLogan Thomas, Virginia TechBo Wallace, Ole MissKeith Wenning, Ball State