Chip Cannon leads The Citadel Athletic Hall of Fame Class of 2013

CHARLESTON, S.C. (The Citadel) - Local product Chip Cannon, one of the most prolific baseball players in program history, leads a list of six individuals who make up The Citadel Athletic Hall of Fame's Class of 2013.

Also entering the Hall are football players Lance Hansen and Jim McMillan and baseball standout Dan McDonnell, while Joe Turbeville and Lt. Col. Richard Moore will be enshrined as honorary members.

The six will be inducted during a banquet on Friday, Nov. 15, at the Holliday Alumni Center on campus.{}

This year's induction class increases the membership of the Hall of Fame to 172 individuals.{} The Hall, which originated in 1977, is located in the lobby of McAlister Field House on campus.

Chip Cannon '04 (Baseball)

Hailing from North Charleston, the versatile first baseman/pitcher earned All-America honors from Baseball America in 2004 prior to being drafted in the eighth round by the Toronto Blue Jays.{} He was an All-Southern Conference selection in 2003 and '04, and Baseball America listed him among the best pro prospects in the league while also labeling him with "the best raw power" in the SoCon.{} He played on two Southern Conference championship teams and made a pair of NCAA Regional appearances.{} After his graduation, Cannon was second all-time in school history with 40 home runs and his three grand slams were tops in the league.{} Making annual appearances on the Dean's List, Cannon walked 156 times, recorded 169 RBI and tallied 399 total bases, all of which ranked him among the school's leaders.{} Pitching in the weekend rotation, he won eight contests in 28 appearances and posted a 4.00 ERA.{} He had three complete games and fanned 107 batters in 153 innings.

Lance Hansen '92 (Football)

A four-year letterman and a three-year starter at guard in a career that encompassed 45 games, Hansen earned first-team All-America honors from the Walter Camp Foundation and The Sports Network and garnered third-team accolades from the Associated Press in 1992.{} He was a force on the '92 Southern Conference championship team that was ranked No. 1 in the country where he earned first-team All-Southern Conference honors.{} The Bulldogs were No. 1 in the country in rushing offense (334.5 yards per game) and set single season records in total offense, rushing, rushing touchdowns, first downs and offensive plays. Coached by Charlie Taaffe, Hansen, along with Hall of Famer Carey Cash, opened holes for the likes of quarterback Jack Douglas and fullback Everette Sands.

Dan McDonnell '92 (Baseball)

An All-Southern Conference selection at second base in 1991, McDonnell led the Bulldogs in walks and stolen bases three times, twice led the team in runs scored and finished his career as the program's all-time leader in stolen bases (99) and walks (185). A member of the 1990 World Series team where he collected a hit in each of the Bulldogs' three games in Omaha, McDonnell was a member of the teams that captured the 1990 and '91 SoCon regular season titles, the '90 league tournament crown and the '90 Atlantic Regional, defeating host Miami twice.{} Since graduating from The Citadel, he served as an assistant coach to Fred Jordan before moving to Ole Miss.{} He has been the head coach at the University of Louisville since 2007 where he has taken the Cardinals to the College World Series in '07 and '13.

Jim McMillan '69 (Football)

Accumulating a career total all-purpose yards of 2,277, McMillan, a running back on Red Parker-coached teams, rushed for 1,413 yards to become the first Citadel player to surpass the 1,000 career rushing yards plateau.{} He added 11 scores by the run, 347 yards and a pair of scores via the pass and another 517 yards in kickoff returns where his 20.7 yards per return average in 1966 was 11th-best in the country.{} While recording six 100-yard outings (including a high of 149 yards against Davidson) during his career, McMillan, who was a team captain, earned first-team All-Southern Conference and All-State honors in addition to an Honorable Mention All-America citation following his senior season. As a junior, he earned second-team All-SoCon and All-State recognition.{} After his 126 rushing yards against Army in the 1968 season opener, he passed the career rushing record that was set by Hall of Famer Early Eastburn (965 yards). McMillan was drafted by the Baltimore Colts and was in their organization for two seasons.{}

Lt. Col. Richard Moore '53 (Honorary)

The F-Company TAC officer who was recruited by Gen. Mark Clark to coach the rifle team, Lt. Col. Moore guided that squad from 1959-62 and led them to unprecedented heights.{} The Bulldogs were undefeated in shoulder-to-shoulder competition during those four seasons and regularly defeated teams from Army, Navy and Air Force.{} The Bulldogs finished first in the Hearst National Rifle Match, which equated to national championships, in 1959, '60 and '61.{} Arguably the most successful coach in Citadel history, Moore's four teams captured Southern Conference and state championships each year and along the way, three shooters - Robert Metsker '60, David Edgerly '62 and Keels Dickson '62 - all earned All-America citations, becoming the first Citadel program to showcase three All-Americans.{} Moore, who was active in the Army at the time, was transferred to a tour of duty in Vietnam.{}

Joe Turbeville '63 (Honorary)

One of the all-time great high school football coaches in South Carolina, Turbeville was a four-year letter-winner at guard on the 1960, '61 and '62 teams that won the Tangerine Bowl and the team's first Southern Conference Championship.{} As a highly-respected high school coach, Turbeville's teams captured five state championships and 12 conference titles during his 31-year career while sending countless players to his alma mater.{} He served as the head coach and an assistant at the SC-NC Shrine Bowl and the SC All-Star Game.{} Active in The Citadel Football Association, the Mullins native is a past president of the SC Coaches Association and the SC Athletic Administrators Association.{} He was inducted in the SCAAA's inaugural Hall of Fame in 2011.