Citadel senior ranked 6th in national Army ROTC Merit List

CDT Lewis K. Dunaway (provided)

CHARLESTON, S.C. (WCIV) -- Every year, Army Reserve Officers' Training Corps cadets from around the country are ranked in a national Order of Merit List (OML) and this year, a Lowcountry cadet made the Top Ten.

The cadets included in the list are all seniors scheduled to graduate and become commissioned officers in the Spring.

Lewis K. Dunaway, an Army ROTC cadet from The Citadel, got 6th place out of{}5,478 graduating cadets.

Dunaway, who is from Charlotte, N.C., is getting his degree in Political Science, with a Pre-law subfield, and minors in Spanish and Business. He will be commissioned as a second lieutenant of Infantry.

On top of his studies, Dunaway plays lacrosse and became an Eagle Scout.He's also a member of the Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society and the Summerall Guards.

As a sophomore, he earned the highest position a second year cadet can hold at the Citadel (Clerk) and was also appointed Squad Corporal. The following year he made Cadre Squad Sergeant and Cadre Platoon Sergeant. As a senior, he became an Academic Officer and Company Honor Representative while also serving as the Battalion Executive Officer for The Citadel's Army ROTC Battalion.

According to a release from the Citadel, when asked about his accomplishments, Dunaway quoted Winston Churchill.

"To every man there comes that special moment when he is figuratively tapped on the shoulder and offered the chance to do a special thing unique to him and fitted to his talent. What a tragedy if that moment finds him unprepared or unqualified for the work which would be his finest hour."

The top 10 Army ROTC cadets for 2013 are:

1. Ricky W. Leslie from Columbus State University, Columbus, Ga.

2. Tyler A. Smotherman from the University of Idaho, Moscow, Idaho.

3. Claire L. Yakabe from the University of Hawaii-Manoa, Honolulu, Hawaii.

4. Matthew S. Mischo from the Colorado School of Mines, Golden, Colo.

5. Felix R. Lopezalmeyda from the University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez, Mayaguez, P.R.

6. Lewis K. Dunaway from The Citadel, Charleston, S.C.

7. Alexander S. Coslow from Colorado State University, Fort Collins, Colo.

8. Kevin T. Filip from Loyola University, Chicago, Ill.

9. Amalia I. Osborne from North Carolina State University, Raleigh, N.C.

10. Elizabeth J. Bradt from Spring Arbor University, Spring Arbor, Mich.