Cougars head to Texas Tech for NCAA tennis first round

CHARLESTON, S.C. (COFC) - The 2013 Southern Conference champion College of Charleston women's tennis team will travel to No. 16-seeded and No. 17-ranked Texas Tech for the first round of the 2013 NCAA Division I Women's Tennis Championship, as the field of 64 was announced on Tuesday.

The Cougars (20-8), the automatic qualifier out of the SoCon, and Lady Raiders (19-6) will face-off on Saturday, May 11 at a time still to be determined at the Don and Ethel McLeod Tennis Center in Lubbock, Texas. The winner will advance and take on either No. 14-ranked Duke (14-9) or No. 35-ranked Ole Miss (16-13) in second-round action on Sunday, May 12. Live scoring and video will be available at:

"We are thrilled to be in the tournament," CofC Director of Tennis Angelo Anastopoulo said. "Especially, to see our name pop-up and show us playing at Texas Tech in Lubbock. We have two common opponents in Wisconsin and Kansas. They beat both teams and we beat both teams in non-conference play. We are anxious to get there. It will be our first time traveling to Texas and our first flying trip. We are excited."

The Cougars, who are currently ranked No. 67 in the nation in the latest Campbell's/ITA Collegiate Tennis Rankings, claimed their fifth consecutive SoCon Tournament title under Anastopoulo, the 2013 SoCon Coach of the Year. They are making their sixth all-time NCAA appearance next to 2003, 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2012. The Lady Raiders are playing host for the first time in program history and making only their second-ever NCAA berth.

"We are really excited to play," 2013 SoCon Player of the Year and No. 1 player Christin Newman said. "It's the first time for us to take a plane trip which is really cool. It's a doable match and we are excited to continue our season at Texas Tech. It will be a great college atmosphere for the NCAA Tournament."

The winner of each four-team tournament site will advance to the NCAA Round of 16 hosted by the University of Illinois on May 17-21 at the Khan Outdoor Tennis Complex in Urbana, Ill.

The teams will play a single-elimination tournament at 16 first-and second-round sites (four teams at each site) and the final site (16-team bracket) to determine the national champion. The matches shall be regulation dual matches with three (3) eight-game, pro-set doubles played for one team point, followed by six (6) singles matches, each valued at one team point, played best of three sets. Regular scoring will be used and a 12-point tiebreaker will be played at eight games all in doubles and at six games all in singles.



2003 - CofC at North Carolina, L, 0-4, First Round

2009 - CofC at #15 Florida, L, 1-4, First Round

2010 - CofC at #9 Clemson, L, 0-4, First Round

2011 - CofC at #13 Tennessee, L, 1-4, First Round

2012 - CofC at #6 Georgia, L, 0-4, First Round

2013 - CofC at #16 Texas Tech