USC's Hall of Fame Class Announced

COLUMBIA, S.C. (July 15, 2013) -- The University of South Carolina's Association of Lettermen has announced the election of eight new members to the University's Athletic Hall of Fame.The class of 2013 includes:* The late Arlo Elkins, who guided Carolina's women's tennis team to 17 consecutive NCAA tournaments, and nineteen overall. Elkins coached the Gamecocks from 1983-2012, with his teams winning 438 matches.* All-America baseball shortstop Drew Meyer, a first round draft choice by the Texas Rangers, who still holds the SEC record for most base hits in a season with 120 in 2002. * All-America softball pitcher Megan Matthews, who played from 1998-2002. Matthews won 101 games for Carolina, and led the nation in saves as a true freshman. When Matthews closed out her career in 2002, she was the Gamecocks' all-time leader in strikeouts, complete games, and innings pitched.* Four-time women's track All American Charmaine Howell, who excelled in the 800 meters, finishing as runner at the NCAA indoor and outdoor championships. Howell won a silver medal in the 2000 Olympics in the 4x100 relay.* Max Runager, outstanding punter for coach Jim Carlen's teams of the late 1970s, who was voted to Carolina's all time team in 1992. Runager punted in the NFL from 1979-1989 for the Eagles, 49ers, and Cleveland Browns. He punted for two Super Bowl teams - the Eagles in 1980 and the 49ers in 1984.* Dave DeCamilla, who anchored the offensive line for coach Paul Dietzel's Gamecocks from 1968-1970. DeCamilla was named first team All ACC in both 1969 and 1970.{} Carolina won the ACC title in 1969.* Chris Boyle, baseball catcher for coach June Raines from 1981-84 who helped lead the Gamecocks to two College World Series appearances. In his career Boyle drove in 198 runs, second only to Justin Smoak's 207, and he also had 224 base hits.* And the late Jake Bodkin, who was voted first team All ACC on coach Warren Giese's offensive line in 1960, after being named second team in 1959. Bodkin won the Jacobs Blocking Trophy for the state of SC in 1960 and was drafted by the Buffalo Bills.These individuals will be inducted on Thursday, September 12 in The Zone at Williams-Brice Stadium. There will be a reception at 5:30 p.m. followed by the dinner and inductions beginning at 6:30. Tickets are $50 each and may be ordered from the Association of Lettermen or the USC Athletic Department beginning August 5.