Linda Page secures mayorship with 57 percent of vote in Mt. Pleasant

MOUNT PLEASANT, S.C. (WCIV) -- Linda Page will be replacing outgoing mayor Billy Swails in Mount Pleasant.

From the Water Dog Grill on Highway 17, Page's camp gathered to celebrate the victorious election returns in her mayoral bid. And supporters did not have to wait long for polling results to show them they were with the winner.

At Page's headquarters, they called the race almost an hour before the unofficial results were confirmed by Charleston County Election officials.

Page was also congratulated by Swails, who told her she was the right woman for the job.

Page secured more than 6,200 votes, a majority share which means she will not face a runoff. She was followed in vote totals by Joe Bustos, Ken Glasson, George Freeman, and Carl Carroll.

In the Mount Pleasant Town Council Race, Mark Smith, Gary Santos, Elton Carrier, and Paul Gawrych all secured seats.

In the Mount Pleasant Waterworks race, John Burn and Rick Crosby pulled out victories.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off