Medal of Honor Bowl releases first list of player commitments

CHARLESTON, S.C. -- Senior college football players from the Southeastern Conference, Big 12, Atlantic Coast Conference, Big 10 and Notre Dame create the initial list, which totals more than 50 players in all as The Medal of Honor Bowl releases its initial list of player commitments.

Some of the names include TCU quarterback Casey Pachall, one of the top quarterbacks for the 2014 NFL Draft, and Raijon Neal a 1,000-yard rusher from the University of Tennessee. Pachall headlines an impressive list of quarterbacks that include Ohio University's Tyler Tettleton, a Davey O' Brien Award candidate and former Maryland and Wisconsin signal caller Danny O'Brien. O'Brien was named ACC Freshman of the Year before finishing his collegiate career at Division II Catawba. Neal rushed for 1,124 yards and 12 touchdowns in his senior campaign for the Vols.

"This{}is just the start of what is shaping up to{}be an outstanding class of{}future{}NFL talent coming to Charleston for the Inaugural Medal of Honor Bowl," said Executive{}Director Brian Woods.

According to Woods, there will be a total of 92 players participating in the game and they will be divided equally into 46 per team.

Former Buffalo Bills and Dallas Cowboys head coach Chan Gailey will serve as head coach for the National Team while Ralph Friedgen, former assistant coach for the San Diego Chargers, will lead the American Team. The premier all-star event expects to have around 200 NFL scouts, coaches and general managers in attendance when practices begin on January 6.

The all-star lineup also includes some the nation's top small school prospects like defensive backs Malcolm Butler of West Alabama and L.J. McCray of Catwaba along with D.J. Adams, a running back from Portland State. Both McCray and Butler were on the Senior Bowl Watch List this year and Adams, a former Maryland Terrapin, was one of the top rushers in all divisions finishing his 2013 campaign with more than 1,600 yards.

Two of the most intriguing prospects could come from the wide receiver group as Nathan Slaughter from West Texas A&M and Gerald Ford from Valdosta State highlight the list. The speedy Slaughter has returned three kickoffs for touchdowns in 2013. Ford was a Harlan Hill Trophy finalist in 2012 before an academic issue kept him off the field in 2013.

Another impressive unit is the linebackers corps, which counts Iowa State's Jeremiah George, Colorado State's Shaquille Barrett and Xavius Boyd from Western Kentucky among its commitments. George finished the season sixth in the nation in total tackles with 133. Boyd was the Sun Belt Conference Player of the Week on three separate occasions this year and led the conference in tackles for loss. Johnny Millard, a talented linebacker from Cal-Poly and the son of former NFL player Keith Millard, has also accepted an invite to play in the Inaugural Medal of Honor Bowl.

Highlighting the defensive backfield is Travis Carrie from Ohio University and Albany State's Dexter Moody. Carrie, a finalist for the Jim Thorpe Award (for the nation's best defensive back) in 2012, returned two interceptions for touchdowns in his 2013 regular season finale. Moody enjoyed a stellar senior year to follow his 2012 campaign, which saw the safety finish third in the nation for all divisions with seven interceptions.

Also accepting an invitation was Wake Forest defensive lineman Nikita Whitlock. Whitlock, who is projected as a fullback in the NFL, will line up on the offensive side of the ball.

Local commitments include The Citadel cornerback Brandon McCladdie and Newberry wide receiver and former North Charleston High School product Corey Washington, Jr.

The Medal of Honor Bowl is scheduled for 2 pm on Saturday, January 11 at The Citadel's Johnson Hagood Stadium in Charleston, SC. Tickets may be secured at the Medal of Honor Bowl Game's dedicated website www. They will also be available at and charge by phone at 800/514-ETIX (3849).{}

For more information, please refer to www., Twitter: @MOHbowl and

Medal of Honor Bowl Player Commitments (55 as of 12/9/13)

OFFENSEQuarterbacksDanny O'Brien - CatawbaCasey Pachall - TCUCory Robinson - TroyTyler Tettleton - Ohio University

Running BacksD.J. Adams - Portland StateRaijon Neal - Tennessee{}

Fullback/H-BackNikita Whitlock - Wake Forest{}

Wide ReceiversD.J. Coles - Virginia TechGerald Ford - Valdosta StateTaylor Gabriel - Abilene ChristianJaVontee Herndon - ArkansasKeenan Holman - SMURonrei Lloyd - Central MissouriColin Lockett - San Diego StateQuinton Payton - North Carolina StateAlex Neutz - BuffaloNathan Slaughter - West Texas A&MEric Thomas - TroyCorey Washington, Jr. - Newberry{}

Tight EndsJacob Maxwell - Louisiana-LafayetteScott Simonson - Assumption{}

Offensive LineJimmy Bennett - ConnecticutPat Eger - West VirginiaCurtis Feight - West Virginia{}


Defensive LineJustin Ellis - Louisiana TechAntonio Gillespie - TroyKona Schwenke - Notre Dame{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}

Defensive EndsDenico Autry - Mississippi StateCody Bauer - RiceEuclid Cummings - Georgia TechCory Henry - Florida AtlanticChris Redding - Wake ForestDaniel Riley - HardingRobert Simpson - Mississippi Valley State{}

LinebackersJustin Anderson - Louisiana-LafayetteShaquille Barrett - Colorado StateXavius Boyd - Western KentuckyDeRonn Furr - Fort Valley StateJeremiah George - Iowa StateAdarius Glanton - Florida AtlanticJohnny Millard - Cal PolyRoosevelt Nix - Kent StateDeontae Skinner - Mississippi State{}

CornerbacksMalcolm Butler - West AlabamaTravis Carrie - Ohio UniversityQuadavius Cox - Jackson StateBrandon Dixon - NW MissouriBrian Dixon - NW MissouriBrandon McCladdie - The Citadel

SafetiesDeon Broomfield - Iowa StateL.J. McCray - CatawbaDexter Moody - Albany StateParker Orms - ColoradoMycal Swaim - Eastern Michigan{}

Punter/KickerMichael Pallardy - Tennessee

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off