Number of candidates for SC-1 continues to climb

CHARLESTON, S.C. (WCIV) -- The race is heating up to fill Senator Tim Scott's former U.S. House seat.

As of Friday morning, the number of candidates totaled 16 with 13 Republican and three Democratic candidates.

Candidates have until February 16 to file. March 19 will be the primary date with a run-off date of April 2 if needed. Official Election Day for the special race is May 7.

The list of candidates who have officially confirmed to ABC News 4 that they are running for the U.S. House seat are as follows:

Keith Blandford - Republican Curtis Bostic - Republican Larry Grooms - Republican Jeff King - Republican John Kuhn - Republican Tim Larkin - Republican Chip Limehouse - Republican Peter McCoy - Republican Elizabeth Moffly - Republican Ray Nash - Republican Andy Patrick - Republican Mark Sanford - Republican Robert E. "Teddy" Turner IV - Republican Elizabeth Colbert Bush - Democrat Bobbie Rose - Democrat Martin Skelly - Democrat

The 1st Congressional District runs along the South Coast from Charleston to Hilton Head Island and includes parts of Berkeley County.

To see if you fall into this district, click here for an interactive map.