Obama signs SC disaster declaration

WASHINGTON (WCIV) - President Barack Obama on Wednesdaydeclared a major disaster in South Carolina and ordered federal aid to bedirected to the state as it cleans up from the ice storms in February.

The funding is being made available to state and localgovernments and some nonprofit groups for emergency work and repairs of areasdamaged by the winter storms. The counties covered by the federal declarationare Aiken, Allendale, Bamberg, Barnwell, Berkeley, Calhoun, Chesterfield,Clarendon, Colleton, Dillon, Dorchester, Edgefield, Florence, Georgetown,Hampton, Horry, Marion, Orangeburg, Saluda, Sumter, and Williamsburg.

There are also cost-sharing options available for statewideprograms, the White House announced.

FEMA officials said more resources may come into the stateif requested.