SCDOT elects chair, vice chair of commission

Edwards and Rearden. (Source: SCDOT)

COLUMBIA, S.C. (SCDOT) -- South Carolina Department of Transportation Commissioner John P. Edwards has been elected Chairman of the Commission.

Edwards, who represents the 4th Congressional District, was elected by acclamation during the Jan. 17 Commission meeting in Columbia. In February, Edwards will succeed Chairman R. Eddie Adams, who will continue to serve as Commissioner representing the 3rd Congressional District. Edwards, of Greenville, is owner and president of Edwards Piping & Machinery.Also on Jan. 17, Commissioner Harrison Rearden, representing the 6th Congressional District, was elected Vice Chairman. Rearden is retired from the SC Department of Social Services, where he served as Executive Assistant to the State Director, Chief of Staff, Ombudsman and Deputy Director.There are two new SCDOT Commissioners, Chad Ingram and Mike Wooten.Ingram represents the 2nd Congressional District, a position formerly held by Commissioner Craig Forrest. Because of reapportionment, Forrest no longer resides in the 2nd Congressional District. Forrest will serve as an at-large member of the Commission for the remainder of his term, which concludes in 2014. Ingram, of Aiken, is president and CEO of Garvin Oil Company Inc.Wooten is the first Commissioner to represent the newly formed 7th Congressional District. Wooten, of Murrells Inlet, is president and founder of DDC Engineers, Inc., in Myrtle Beach.