Three Clemson players on preseason All-America teams

Clemson, SCSammy Watkins, Tajh Boyd and Chandler Catanzaro have all been named to preseason All-America teams released so far by various college football publications. Nationally recognized publications by Phil Steele, USA Today, Athlon, Lindy's and Sporting News have released their All-America and all-conference teams.

Watkins was named a first-team All-American wide receiver by Phil Steele, Athlon, Lindy's and USA Today, and was a second-team all-purpose player by Sporting News. Chandler Catanzaro was named a first-team preseason All-American by Sporting News and was a fourth-team selection by Phil Steele. Tajh Boyd was a third-team selection by Athlon.

Watkins and Boyd are returning All-Americans. Watkins was named a first-team selection by many services in 2011 as a freshman, including the Associated Press. He was a first-team selection by College & Pro Football Weekly as a sophomore. Boyd was a first-team All-American by the American Football Coaches Association last year.

Boyd is also listed as the number-four contender for the Heisman Trophy by Athlon and #9 contender by Lindy's. He is the preseason ACC Player of the Year by Lindy's. Boyd won the ACC Player of the Year Award last year and is the first returning ACC player of the year from Clemson since Steve Fuller in 1978. Fuller went on to win his second straight ACC Player of the Year award in 1978, his senior year.

Catanzaro made 18-19 field goals last year, including a 37-yarder to beat LSU 25-24 on the last play of the Chick-fil-A Bowl in Atlanta. He is a two-time semifinalist for the Lou Groza Award. He has scored 305 career points, third most in Clemson history, but just 25 away from breaking Aaron Hunt's record.

Each of the top three players above are also consensus preseason All-ACC selections. Joining them in that honor is starting offensive tackle Brandon Thomas, who was a first-team All-ACC selection last year.

Eight other Clemson players have been named to various All-ACC teams by the five publications. The list includes Vic Beasley, Spencer Shuey, Travis Blanks, Tyler Shatley, Roderick McDowell, Grady Jarrett, Stephone Anthony and Martavis Bryant.