Voters gear up for municipal elections across the Lowcountry

File Photo (WCIV)

CHARLESTON, S.C. (WCIV) -- Voters in cities and towns all over the Lowcountry will be picking leaders Tuesday. The busiest city races will be in Charleston, Mount Pleasant, Summerville, and Georgetown.

To see a candidate's campaign or official town website, click on their name (in italics).In Berkeley County, the Town of Moncks Corner will be filling three council seats while Wayne Varner runs unopposed for Water Commissioner. See a sample ballot here. Candidates: Johna Bilton Tonia Aiken-TaylorJennifer Schlette Charlotte CruppeninkFor the few city of Charleston residents that live in Berkeley County, they will only have the Commissioner of Public Works seat to fill. See a sample ballot here. Candidates:William KoopmanTim MallardCatherine LaFond

In Charleston County, there are multiple races for the many City Council Districts. Click on the district name to see a sample ballot for each race.Charleston City Council Dist 2: Rodney WilliamsBlake HallmanCharleston City Council Dist 4:Liz FultonRobert M MitchellCharleston City Council Dist 6:Benjamin D'AllesandroFran ClasbyJoe GoodLauretta Lemon DaileyWilliam Dudley GregorieCharleston City Council Dist 8:Mike SeekingsBobbie RoseThe candidates for Charleston City districts 8 and 10, Dean Riegel and Kathleen Wilson respectively, are running unopposed.Three candidates are running for Commissioner Public Works. See a sample ballot here.

Candidates:William KoopmanTim MallardCatherine LaFondThe following towns and cities are also holding their general elections for mayor and council. Click on the municipality to see a sample ballot, if available.AwendawMayor:Miriam GreenJoe Bowers Three Council seats:LeeAnn ReigartTim PenningerBryan McNeal JrBetty SimmonsIsle of Palms Mayor:Dick CroninRyan BuckhannonFour Council seats:Sandy FerenczBarbara J BergwerfMarty BettelliPatrick HarringtonTwo Water/Sewer commission seats:Curtis HelfrichDana LoveLincolnville Mayor:Tyrone E AikenCharles DuberryThree Council seats:Dorothy B BaileyLarry BrownEnoch Dickerson IIIMcClellanville Mayor:Rutledge B Leland IIIFour council seats:Aaron BaldwinJim ScottRobert J GannonTynice Geathers RoundtreeChris BatesVoters in Rockville and Ravenel can miss this election day as all of the candidates for the towns' mayor and council seats are running unopposed. Rockville:Mayor:Riley A BradhamFour council seats:Zachary NelsonPatricia Giddens WrightHenry C HolstAllen Whilden HolmesRavenel:Three council seats:Harold T Buck Dukes JrRobert CochranSeabrook Island Mayor:Terry AhearnJohn DuBoisFour council seats:Glenda L MillerJohn TurnerJohn GreggRonald J CiancioDonald RomanoKimber SmithOne Utility commission seat:Jeff BostockThe biggest races in Charleston County are in Mount Pleasant. After 15 years in the Mayor's Office, Billy Swails said he will not run for reelection. See a sample ballot here.Five candidates have thrown their hat in the ring:Joe BustosC Carl Carroll JrGeorge A FreemanKen GlassonLinda G PageMeanwhile eight candidates are running to fill four Town Council Seats:Ben BrysonElton CarrierPaul S GawrychTimm GipeAnthony KowbeiduGary SantosMark SmithJoseph WrenTwo Waterworks seats are available. Candidates:John BurnAlys CampaigneRick CrosbyDolph RodenbergMt. Pleasant town council member John Burn was arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol recently. Police said Burn rear-ended a car that was stopped at a traffic light.Further north in Dorchester County, two towns will be filling three council seats. Click on the town name for a sample ballot.SummervilleOne Council seat:Walter BaileyJohn C. HinsonHarleyville Two Town council seats:Susan S BishopBrenda DavisKenneth R WitherspoonDorchester County residents will also need to decide if they want to impose a one percent sales and use tax by voting on the Dorchester Special Tax Referendum.The referendum reads:Must a one percent sales and use tax be levied in Dorchester COunty for the purpose of allowing a credit against a taxpayer's county and municipal ad valorem tax liability and for the purpose of funding county and municipal operations in the Dorchester County area?

Voters will answer Yes or No.Over in Colleton County, the City of Walterboro is holding a special election to fill the council seat of Randy Peters who passed away in August.Candidates:Judy BridgeDwayne Buckner Tony Hamilton Karen HinenNicole HolmesMack ThomasIn Edisto Beach, voters will fill two council seats.Candidates:Susan HornsbyBabe HuttoTommy MannPatti SmyerGeorgetown County residents will be voting to fill three council seats in Andrews and another three in Georgetown.{} Georgetown will also be voting for their mayor.Three towns in Beaufort County are holding their elections. Click on the municipality to see a sample ballot.Town of BlufftonTwo council seats:Gary M. BenschOliver S. BrownFred Hamilton Jr.Garfield MossMike RaymondLarry ToomerCharlie WetmoreTown of Port RoyalTwo council seats:Vernon H DeLoachMary Beth Gray-HeywardLee Helena Jr.Town of YemasseeMayor:Jerry CookJ.L GoodwinTwo council seats:Tonja D. AlexanderDaniel Anderson IIIMingo ChisolmMichelle B. HaganJordan J.J. JinksChuck Simmons