Zapolski named ECHL Rookie of the Year

North Charleston, S.C. - The South Carolina Stingrays, celebrating 20 seasons of hockey in the Lowcountry and proud ECHL affiliate of the Boston Bruins of the National Hockey League (NHL), announced today that goaltender Ryan Zapolski has been named the CCM ECHL Rookie of the Year and recipient of the John A. Daley Memorial Trophy.

Zapolski, 26, becomes the fifth goaltender in ECHL history to be named Rookie of the Year and the first since Frederic Cloutier during the 2001-02 season. The Erie, Pennsylvania, native was named to the ECHL All-Rookie Team and the All-ECHL First Team last week and led the ECHL with a 1.64 goals-against average, a .942 save percentage and eight shutouts and tied for second among netminders with 27 wins and fifth with 2,378 minutes played. Zapolski set a new ECHL single-season record for lowest goals-against average, tied the single-season mark for shutouts and tied the second-best save percentage in league history. He also earned Most Valuable Player honors at the 2013 ECHL All-Star Game and was a two-time Goaltender of the Month selection and three-time Goaltender of the Week choice this season.

Zapolski is the second Stingray to be named ECHL Rookie of the Year behind forward Joey Tenute in 2004-05.

The CCM ECHL Rookie of the Year award and the John A. Daley Memorial Trophy is presented annually to the player selected as the most proficient in his first year of competition in the ECHL as determined in a vote of ECHL coaches, broadcasters, media relations directors and media members.. The trophy was named in honor of John A. Daley in 1997. Daley, who passed away in 1996, was one of the founding fathers of the ECHL, serving as general manger and minority owner of the Johnstown Chiefs from the inception of the team in 1988 until 1994.


ECHL Rookie of the Year Winners

2012-13 Ryan Zapolski, South Carolina Stingrays

2011-12 Dustin Gazley, Elmira Jackals

2010-11 Ben Street, Wheeling Nailers

2009-10 Justin Donati, Elmira Jackals

2008-09 Bryan Ewing, Wheeling Nailers

2007-08 David Desharnais, Cincinnati Cyclones

2006-07 Colton Fretter, Gwinnett Gladiators

2005-06 Alex Leavitt, Alaska Aces

2004-05 Joe Tenute, South Carolina Stingrays

2003-04 Kevin Doell, Gwinnett Gladiators

2002-03 Jason Jaffray, Roanoke Express

2001-02 Frederic Cloutier, Louisiana IceGators

2000-01 Scott Stirling, Trenton Titans

1999-00 Jan Lasak, Hampton Roads Admirals

1998-99 Maxime Gingras, Richmond Renegades

1997-98 Sean Venedam, Toledo Storm

1996-97 Dany Bousquet, Birmingham Bulls

1995-96 Keli Corpse, Wheeling Thunderbirds

1994-95 Kevin McKinnon, Erie Panthers

1993-94 Dan Gravelle, Greensboro Monarchs

1992-93 Joe Flanagan, Birmingham Bulls

1991-92 Darren Colbourne, Dayton Bombers

1990-91 Dan Gauthier, Knoxville Cherokees

1989-90 Bill McDougall, Erie Panthers

1988-89 Tom Sasso, Johnstown Chiefs