Charleston City Council election sees four incumbents potentially ousted

Charleston City Hall (File, WCIV)

Four incumbent city council members were up for reelection Tuesday in Charleston, but voters appear to have replaced all four.

Preliminary election results with all precincts reporting show Dean Riegel, William Dudley Gregorie, Rodney Williams and Kathleen Wilson all have likely been defeated by challengers.

RELATED | Charleston voters pass $20M affordable housing referendum

Gregorie, who has served on city council for 8 years, is projected to lose by the narrowest of margins --- one vote --- to Amy Brennan, 411-410, for City Council District 6 (Charleston/James Island).

Riegel, also a city council member for 8 years, finished a distant third behind projected City Council District 10 (West Ashley) winner Summer Massey, who edged out ambitious 22-year-old political upstart Harry Griffin. Massey won with 440 votes. Griffin received 402 votes. Riegel got 174 votes.

Massey and Griffin will face one another in a runoff in two weeks.

In other city council races, preliminary results show Carol Jackson ousting incumbent Kathleen Wilson, 777-565, in District 12 (James Island), and Kevin Shealy defeating incumbent Rodney Williams, 629-374, in District 2 (West Ashley).

All races are pending certification on Friday, and possible recounts and runoffs.

To view other election results, CLICK HERE.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off