Cooper River Bridge Run won by American


Rio Olympian Shadrack Kipchirchir has won the Cooper River Bridge Run.

The 2017 US Olympics participant is from Colorado Springs and Kenya-born athlete was excited after the race.

RELATED: American Olympians competing in Cooper River Bridge Run

Kipchirchir finished the race with a time of 28:12. He was followed by Edwin Rotich of Kenya with a time of 28:14.

The win by Kipchirchir marks the first win of an American in the race since Jeff Cannada won in 1991.

In the last several hundred meters of the race, Kipchirchir moved from the fourth position in the lead pack to the first , eventually spreading the gap before the win.

Rotich could be seen frequently turning his head to look for Kipchirchir as the American made his move to take the lead.

“That’s the best feeling you’ll ever get," the Olympian said after the race.

As far as the hill that presents a level of difficulty for many runners, the US Army specialist said it wasn't a problem.

"I didn't feel it," he said. "I live in Colorado Springs, so I train on the hills all the time."

RELATED: Monicah Ngige wins women's race of bridge run for 2nd year

As the race came to a closed and Kipchirchir made his move to the finish, he said he knew he had the energy to take the win. He credited his training with the Army for his "dont' quit, don't accept defeat" demeanor.

"I knew I had it. I knew I had the kick," he said.

As far as Charleston and the Cooper River Bridge Run are concerned, Kipchirchir said it has been an amazing experience.

"It’s amazing to step up to the starting line and represent the U.S. Army, no matter the race."

"I like it here. I love it here," he said of the music and friendly atmosphere of the race.

Kipchirchir will take home $10,000 as the winner of the race. It was a big day for his family. Possibly the cherry on top of his family's trip to Charleston was his wife, Elvin Kibet, taking home the $3,000 cash prize for finishing second in the elite women's race.

The rest of the cash prizes break down as follows:

2nd Place - $3,000 Prize - Edwin Rotich - 28:14

3rd Place - $1,500 Prize - Dominic Ondoro - 28:33

4th Place - $1,000 Prize - Tsegaye Getachew - 28:40

5th Place- $800 Prize - Birhan Nebebew - 28:44

6th Place - $600 Prize - Jon Grey - 28:49

7th Place - $500 Prize - John Muritu - 28:53

8th Place -$400 Prize - Eliud Ngetich - 28:53

9th Place - $300 Prize - Kirubel Erassa - 28:54

10th Place - $250 Prize - Macdonald Ondara - 20:51

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off