Mount Pleasant elects 3 new Town Council members

Mount Pleasant Town Council (File, WCIV)

On a night Mount Pleasant voters elected a new mayor, three new members are also projected to fill slots on town council.

With 100 percent of precincts reporting, unofficial results have Tom O'Rourke (16%), , Kathy Landing (13%), and G.M. Whitley (13%) taking over on town council.

With 15 percent of the votes, incumbent Gary Santos appears as though he'll hold on to his seat.

Ten people were running for four open seats. Mount Pleasant's at-large representation on city council means the candidates with the most votes win any open seats.

Mount Pleasant also appears to have a new mayor. Preliminary election results have Will Haynie defeating incumbent Linda Page by nearly a 2-to-1 margin.

For more election results, CLICK HERE.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off