A'ja Wilson named AP National Player of the Year

A'ja Wilson named AP National Player of the Year

COLUMBIA, SC (WACH) – USC senior forward A’ja Wilson has been named the Associated Press National Player of the Year, the media organization announced Thursday.

Wilson ended her career with the Gamecocks by becoming the first player in program history to earn national player of the year honors form multiple organizations.

Wilson ranked seventh in the nation in scoring (22.6 ppg), eleventh in rebounding (11.8 rpg) and fifth in blocks (3.2 bpg) and is the only player in the country ranked in the top 35 of all three categories.

Wilson also became the first three-time SEC Player of the Year in league history this season, the Gamecocks’ first four-time SEC First-Team selection and SEC First-Team selection and first four-time All-American.

Wilson became just the 13th player in SEC history to amass 2,000 points and 1,000 rebounds in her career and the first Gamecock to do it in the SEC era.

Wilson is the sixth SEC player to be named AP National Player of the Year, joining Katrina McClain (Georgia, 1987), Saudia Roundtree (Georgia, 1996), Chamique Holdsclaw (Tennessee, 1998 and 1999), Tamika Catchings (Tennessee, 2000) and Seimone Augusts (LSU, 2005 and 2006).

Wilson helped South Carolina to three of its four SEC regular-season championships and all of its league-record four consecutive SEC Tournament titles. She played a key role in both NCAA Final Four appearances and was the Most Outstanding Player in the Gamecocks’ 2017 NCAA National Championship.

Associated Press Women’s Basketball Awards

Player of the Year

A’ja Wilson, South Carolina

Coach of the Year

Muffet McGraw, Notre Dame

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off