Zapolski receives ECHL Goaltender of the Year Honors

NORTH CHARLESTON, S.C. (RAYS) - The South Carolina Stingrays announced today that goaltender Ryan Zapolski has been named the Reebok Hockey ECHL Goaltender of the Year for 2012-13.

Zapolski, who was named to the ECHL All-Rookie Team and All-ECHL First Team last week and on Monday was named the ECHL Rookie of the Year, is the first rookie to be named the Goaltender of the Year since Alaska's Jean-Philippe Lamoureux in 2008-09. He joins Louisiana's Frederic Cloutier (2001-02), Trenton's Scott Stirling (2000-01), Hampton Roads' Jan Lasak (1999-00) and Richmond's Maxime Gingras (1998-99) as winners of both the Rookie of the Year and Goaltender of the Year in the same season.

The Erie, Pennsylvania, native led the ECHL this season with a 1.64 goals-against average, a .942 save percentage and eight shutouts, while finishing tied for second with 27 wins and fifth with 2,378 minutes played. Zapolski set a new ECHL single-season record for lowest goals-against average, while tying the mark for most shutouts in a season and tying the second best save percentage in league history. Zapolski also earned Most Valuable Player honors at the 2013 ECHL All-Star Game, stopping all 17 shots he faced in the second period of the ECHL All-Star 7-3 win against Colorado.

Zapolski is the second Stingray to be named ECHL Goaltender of the Year behind Todd Ford in 2009-10. Current Stingrays goaltender Jeff Jakaitis won the award last season as a member of the Gwinnett Gladiators.

The Reebok Hockey Goaltender of the Year award is presented annually to the goaltender selected to be the best at his position as determined in a vote of ECHL coaches, broadcasters, media relations directors and media members.

Mark Guggenberger of Alaska finished second, followed by Idaho's Josh Robinson, Joel Martin of Kalamazoo and Gwinnett's Mike Lee.


Reebok Hockey ECHL Goaltender of the Year Award Winners

2012-13{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{} Ryan Zapolski, South Carolina Stingrays

2011-12{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{} Jeff Jakaitis, Gwinnett Gladiators

2010-11{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{} Gerald Coleman, Alaska Aces

2009-10{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{} Todd Ford, South Carolina Stingrays

2008-09{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{} Jean-Philippe Lamoureux, Alaska Aces

2007-08{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{} Anton Khudobin, Texas Wildcatters

2006-07{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{} Adam Berkhoel, Dayton Bombers

2005-06{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{} Matt Underhill, Alaska Aces

2004-05{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{} Chris Madden, Florida Everblades/Long Beach Ice Dogs

2003-04{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{} Scott Stirling, Atlantic City Boardwalk Bullies

2002-03{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{} Alfie Michaud, Peoria Rivermen

2001-02{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{} Frederic Cloutier, Louisiana IceGators

2000-01{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{} Scott Stirling, Trenton Titans

1999-00{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{} Jan Lasak, Hampton Roads Admirals

1998-99{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{} Maxime Gingras, Richmond Renegades

1997-98{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{} Nick Vitucci, Toledo Storm

1996-97{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{} Marc Delorme, Louisiana IceGators

1995-96{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{} Alain Morissette, Louisville RiverFrogs

1994-95{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{} Chris Gordon, Huntington Blizzard

1993-94{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{} Cory Cadden, Knoxville Cherokees


The Stingrays kick off the 2013 Kelly Cup Playoffs with Game 1 of the best-of-seven Eastern Conference Quarterfinals on Friday, April 5 against the Gladiators at 7:35 p.m. at The Arena at Gwinnett Center. Listen to all the action live at! Game 3, 4 and 5 (if necessary) is at the North Charleston Coliseum on Wednesday, April 10, Friday, April 12 and Saturday, April 13 at 7:05 p.m.! 2013 Kelly Cup Playoff Packages are on sale now! Visit or call (843) 744-2248 to find out how you can join the Stingrays in the chase for the Kelly Cup!

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off